A core Indaba value is Masakhane (We Build Together) and this is reflected in the group of people who dedicate their time throughout the year to sustain the work of Strengthening African Machine Learning. All email addresses are @deeplearningindaba.com. This is the incredible set of people who form the organising committees for our 2023 activities.

Indaba 2023 in Ghana

General Chairs


  • Amal Rannen-Triki
  • Avishkar Bhoopchand
  • Delali Agbenyegah

Programme Committee


  • Kathleen Siminyu, Chair
  • Girmaw Abebe Tadesse
  • Jerry Fadugba
  • Kale-ab Tessera
  • Bruno Ssekiwere

Sponsorship Committee


  • Emily Muller
  • Yassine Yaakoubi

Applications and Selections

  • Tejumade Afonja, Chair

Communications and Social Media


  • Siobhan Hall, Chair

Local Organising Committee


  • Augustine Denteh, Chair
  • Julius Amegadzie
  • Naa Lamle Boye
  • Richard Nii Lanteh Lawson
  • Michael Young
  • Dorothy Ewuah
  • Otema Yirenkyi
  • Kweyakie Afi Blebo
  • Mannie W. Young
  • Atsu Agbenyegah

Awards Programme

Awards Chairs


  • Abeba Birhane
  • Marcel Atemkeng
  • Richard Klein

Executive Board

  • Shakir Mohamed, Trustee
  • Ulrich Paquet, Trustee
  • Vukosi Marivate, Trustee
  • Avishkar Bhoopchand
  • Amal Ranen-Triki
  • Kathleen Siminyu
  • Benjamin Rosman
  • Richard Klein